h1

Daily Life (2)

May 17, 2008

Today’s morning was oh so typical Japanese: Since we had our weekly meeting this morning and I sensed a short period of dry weather, I drove to university quite early (by bicycle). Coming into the lab, someone was already there, though sleeping at his desk, probably having spent the night in the lab. So I silently made some green tea, sat on the floor and started meditating a bit. Afterwards, there was the actual meeting (which I won’t write about, in order to not offend some people ^_^; but, they seem to lay great importance in their meetings, and coming late is not that much fun). Soon after, collaborative cleaning of the lab rooms, and finally we were able to start our daily work. What a way to start the day.

Later, we went to this off-campus place that had several beef-based dishes (which I was able to understand) on their menu, but also something I wasn’t able to read (didn’t know the kanji). They told me it was their recommendation, so I tried it – maybe being a bit tired of life?? ^^. Well, it looked good, smelled good, and the first cautious bite was good, too, since the whole thing was marinated in miso, then fried. But already the second bite exhibited some soft, wobbly structure … later I found out that it was cartilage (German: Knorpel). Why would people eat that stuff, you might ask? Frankly I have no idea. However, I had my own little revenge 🙂 giving them some “present from Germany”: a bag of Haribo, including liquorice, which is something Japanese in general doesn’t seem to like, and quite often downright hate, trying everything to get rid of the taste. We had much fun with that!

Oh, speaking about food: At the cafeteria, you can often see students reserving some seats by putting their cell phones on the table, then going away (sometimes quite distant) to get their food. While Germany is surely not the most criminal place, this would probably be a good way to not only lose the seat, but also the phone. :-/ So, kids, don’t try this at home!

Not my words, yet mine:
“What lies behind us, and what lies before us, are tiny matters compared to what lies within us.”

5 comments

  1. So , i`ve to try my bad english skills to keep this blog international^^

    It’s pretty amazing to see you experience all this stuff and i think it must be normal to be a little jealous.
    At last your entrys are comfortable to read and realy interesting. Especialy your food-experiments are fun to read. I hope that you will continue this.
    (You can’t cook rice without these mashines ??)

    For the next time I will continue to give you some specialized comments on your blog entries.

    Wish you a good day and
    dewa mata sugu.


  2. Hey Jan,

    thanks for the encouraging comment! Yeah, I’ll definitely do my best to continue writing this blog while I’m here.

    (PS: Well, I *can* cook rice on the stove, in a pot, but the result is never as good as with a rice cooker; and never as easy.)


  3. What a pity I forgot to give you a package of ‘real’ pure liquorice before you left. Haribo’s has not that much of the distinct liquorice flavour (but enough for Japanese people to generally dislike it) and is mixed with a lot of sugar. Ah well, in case your Japanese hosts offer you some other foodstuff which doesn’t fit your taste and you need some stronger stuff to get back at them, just mail me – I’m sure I could send something per air mail… 😉


  4. Hehe, thanks for the offer.
    Though, fortunately, most Japanese food is pretty tasty (as you know). Much better than all this creepy stuff you get in Germany … like yogurt, (cow milk) curd, and other molded milk products. 😉


  5. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you are
    interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

    Have a look at my webpage: data recovery software (Grace)



Leave a Reply

